ARC Review: The Young Elites by: Marie Lu

The Young Elites

I am tired of being used, hurt, and cast aside.

Adelina Amouteru is a survivor of the blood fever. A decade ago, the deadly illness swept through her nation. Most of the infected perished, while many of the children who survived were left with strange markings. Adelina’s black hair turned silver, her lashes went pale, and now she has only a jagged scar where her left eye once was. Her cruel father believes she is a malfetto, an abomination, ruining their family’s good name and standing in the way of their fortune. But some of the fever’s survivors are rumored to possess more than just scars—they are believed to have mysterious and powerful gifts, and though their identities remain secret, they have come to be called the Young Elites.

Teren Santoro works for the king. As Leader of the Inquisition Axis, it is his job to seek out the Young Elites, to destroy them before they destroy the nation. He believes the Young Elites to be dangerous and vengeful, but it’s Teren who may possess the darkest secret of all.

Enzo Valenciano is a member of the Dagger Society. This secret sect of Young Elites seeks out others like them before the Inquisition Axis can. But when the Daggers find Adelina, they discover someone with powers like they’ve never seen.

Adelina wants to believe Enzo is on her side, and that Teren is the true enemy. But the lives of these three will collide in unexpected ways, as each fights a very different and personal battle. But of one thing they are all certain: Adelina has abilities that shouldn’t belong in this world. A vengeful blackness in her heart. And a desire to destroy all who dare to cross her.

It is my turn to use. My turn to hurt.

add to goodreads

 

tealdivider

 

picadillyblue

non spoiler

I received as in ARC for an honest review. I have been a fan of Marie Lu’s books ever since Champion and I was so excited to find out she was releasing a new book. So when I got the ARC…Yeah this was a good book. I do prefer Legend but that is mostly because I have a decent amount of trouble getting attached to a fantasy type of book but if you liked Legend of love fantasy go for this book! I loved the characters in this book and reading from a multi-character perspective. I think it helped alot with the depth of the book and how we saw the situation.  If you like fantasy this book is for you! I will be doing a Let’s talk within the first week of it release. Sooo look foward to it!

spoilers

Like I said fantasy isn’t my cup of tea. This book to a while to finish and it is not because it was badly written because it was such a great book. I just couldn’t get into it for long periods of time. I really liked how the first few chapters already draw you in. It starts out in the end of the middle of a crisis.We get to know what happened that night and how everything lead to Adelina in jail. Now I really liked what had happened that night. The events flowed so nicely and the whole entire book didn’t feel forced at all. There were so many parts in this book where it kept you on your toes and once you thought it would get boring…it didn’t. Marie would be there swooping in and toying with your feels and emotions. Congrats Marie, you have written another great book.

I liked the characters in this book. Adelina was so shy but so brave at the same time. Raffaele was the great friend that helped you matter what you were like in that moment in time. (Even though he did not like Adelina’s powers) Teren was the person with a messed up past but a complicated future and he wasn’t a person who was a goody goody to the king. Then we have Enzo. Enzo. Enzo was…I have such mixed feelings for him. This book had such little happiness and was so dark. Even if something that possibly could lead to happiness then the next few pages something bad happens. Enzo. His past is so sad and he is such a closed person. When something happened between Adelina and Enzo we all got excited then boom. Something happened. Nevermind! False alarm. So i’m not sure how I feel about Enzo. I definitely don’t hate him but I don’t love him…

This world that Marie Lu created is pretty cool…but dark. This was dark book. The cover is dark. The characters have a dark feeling to them. The powers are kind of dark. Everything about this was so dark. The powers are pretty cool and the way you get them, I have never read that before. The places Marie has developed are so wicked. I love how she just created a place that was just based off of nothing. Legend was based off a lot of Southern California and it’s a great change for it to be based off of just nothing.

That is my review on Marie Lu’s new book The Young Elites! I hope you enjoyed and if you read it hope you enjoyed the book as much as I did!

black4

 

tealdivider

 

Thanks for reading! Hope you enjoyed!

kaitlin

Follow on Bloglovin

One thought on “ARC Review: The Young Elites by: Marie Lu

  1. Pingback: Let’s Talk! The Young Elites by: Marie Lu | YA, YA and More YA

Leave a comment