Let’s Talk!: Diamonds in the Rough by: Michelle Madow

Diamonds in the Rough

All-access doesn’t mean no problems.

The three Diamond sisters survived the summer in style after coming to live with their long-lost billionaire father. But making a place for themselves at their exclusive new Las Vegas private school is throwing them any number of gold-plated curves. Savannah’s YouTube stardom turns into a Sweet Sixteen reality show extravaganza—with complimentary enemies on the side. Dangerous flirtations don’t keep Peyton from a gamble that will risk far more than she planned to bet. And when Courtney and the sisters’ archenemy, Madison, uncover two explosive secrets, it will rock even this town of glittering illusion—and turn their lives upside down all over again.

Sisterhood, first crushes, and scandalous secrets explode in book two of Michelle Madow’s riveting series, The Secret Diamond Sisters.

add to goodreads

tealdivider

picadillyblue

non spoiler

I received this book as an ARC in exchange for a honest review. I have my ARC review on the blog, you can check it out here.

This book is a sequel to another book and I really enjoyed the first book. I love Michelle’s writing style and how she took this book. The events in this book was enough for me to keep me on my toes and anticipation what was going to happen next.  She kept the character personalities so welly separated and every character had it’s own personalities. If you haven’t read the first book Diamonds in the Rough, I would highly recommend it to anyone who likes contemporary and then the series just keeps getting better and better from there.

(Non-spoiler review taken from ARC review)

spoilers

Wow.. a lot of things happened in this book, am I right? Like too much. I feel like Michelle was thinking..”Let’s make everything EXPLODE and have so much happen in this book!” We can just go down the huge long list I have written down and we’re going to talk about them…yay!

Let’s start with the most important thing…maybe the most surprising part, Courtney had a twin. I was just sitting in the car and reading about her twin and honestly what happened was so sad. Now everything just comes together and we all now know why Courtney, Peyton, and, Savannah had to leave Vegas and not know anything about Adrian Then we have the second most surprising thing…Madison is their half sister. Like woah! First we have Courtney and her twin and now Madison is their half sister. We have the weirdest family…Now in the next book I really hope Madison and maybe their parents come out to the Diamond sisters because I’m interested in what will happen a family dinner…*cue the family images* What got me wondering was why Adrian Diamond banged another girl in his marriage with Peyton’s mom..

The relationships. The relationships Michelle writes are so great! They are so fun to read about. Let’s start with Peyton…who is flirting with her teacher..greeeaat. Honestly Peyton and Savannah I equally dislike because Peyton is so careless sometimes and I’m not saying its not okay to have a little “fun” but she needs to be more careful especially because she is now living in Vegas. Savannah is just stupid sometimes. She can never make the right decisions and know what and who is right. Peyton was so careless,  Jackson lost his job because of her. They could have done their business maybe could have been in a more closed area instead of an open bar. I’m just very sad how Jackson is now gone and maybe he will return for book 3? Just maybe?! Savannah was very frustrating in this book because I personally prefer her to be with Nick and she was hanging out with Damien so much I was just thinking,” Nick! Where are you? Damien go talk to Madison or something.”

Let’s talk about some characters now. First Oliver in this book. The ending for him was so sad. He got in a crash and we don’t even know if he is alive! He was okay during this book. Oliver got quite annoying in this book with his cocky-ness and douche-baggy-ness. Evie was actually pretty annoying in this book as well. She was so clingy and acted so differently than in Fairfield and it seemed like she was there in Vegas for the party and boys, rather than to visit Savannah. I honestly hate these kinds of friends that use you and in this situation, Savannah needs to find real friends other then Evie who has now turned into Alyssa who uses Savannah for TV and her party. I have some respect for Madison now because he was a real bitch in The Secret Diamond Sisters but now…I guess I see her in a different way.

The next book i’m predicting we will read about Madison telling the sisters about them being half-sisters and hopefully they will get along! Savannah will loose all her volleyball friends after her birthday because they are users. Peyton and Jackson will finally get reunited at the end of the book and Courtney and Brett with finally figure out their situation. (Hopefully) I actually think the book can possibly end when their mom is done with her rehab and they return back to Fairfield…or their mom will come to Vegas to live with the sisters but I don’t think that will happen because a) Vegas is full of alcohol and it would take a lot of control for their mom to not become addicted to alcohol again  and b) Adrian has a fiance and the least thing I would expect is for him to invite his ex-wife to live in his hotel…

black4

tealdivider

Thanks for reading! Hope you enjoyed!

kaitlin

Leave a comment