Let’s Talk! Let’s Get Lost by: Adi Alsaid

Let’s Get Lost

Five strangers. Countless adventures. One epic way to get lost.

Four teens across the country have only one thing in common: a girl named LEILA. She crashes into their lives in her absurdly red car at the moment they need someone the most.

There’s HUDSON, a small-town mechanic who is willing to throw away his dreams for true love. And BREE, a runaway who seizes every Tuesday—and a few stolen goods along the way. ELLIOT believes in happy endings…until his own life goes off-script. And SONIA worries that when she lost her boyfriend, she also lost the ability to love.

Hudson, Bree, Elliot and Sonia find a friend in Leila. And when Leila leaves them, their lives are forever changed. But it is during Leila’s own 4,268-mile journey that she discovers the most important truth— sometimes, what you need most is right where you started. And maybe the only way to find what you’re looking for is to get lost along the way.

add to goodreads

tealdivider

picadillyblue non spoiler

This book is now going on my list of top favorite books. I didn’t just like this book, I loved it. The plot was so great and I loved how this book was multiple perspective. The author also did such a great job writing in dual perspective. The characters in this book were also so realistic and relatable; relatable characters are something that I look into. I think the situations in this book are also very modern and can be relatable too but it wasn’t the characters or the plots. It was the theme/message I learned from this book and I’m not going to post it in this section of the review or the spoiler section of the review because maybe yours will be different and I don’t want to stop you from having a different perspective on this book. Definitely give this book a look if you ever get a chance to!

spoilers

If you looked in this section for the message I learned from this book…you won’t get it. Just spoilers if you haven’t read that book. So there is just going to be a whole section on my thoughts of each of the characters and their experience with Leila. Then just a little section for random thoughts I have.

So the impact Leila had on these people’s lives may be big may be small but they were all positive in someway. I always saw Hudson’s impact from Leila to be…negative in a way, but in a way it was a somewhat positive impact. Now who shall we start with the thoughts first? How about Elliot because I thought his story was probably the least favorite out off all these stories. His story was probably the most ordinary and something that I got a little bored of. Yes the ending and his backstory was pretty sweet but it was something I had read so much of. Guy falls in love with best friend but see’s she is with someone else but end up together later. I’ve seen it before and the impact that Leila made probably wouldn’t have happened if Leila wasn’t there but Elliot and Sarah (that’s her name right?) would have gotten together if it was right.

Sonia, Bree and Hudson’s stories all tie as my favorite. Sonia’s is a situation that I’ve also see different variations of it but her time spent with Leila was just so fun to read about and how the struggle it was to get back into Canada. Now that was fun. It was just hilarious how they were getting caught over and over and had to ask help from a guy they got recommended from Sonia’s brother and believe me …he sounded pretty crazy. But I just loved how they ended up in a trunk getting into Canada.

Now Bree..Bree, Bree, Bree. I enjoyed Bree’s story very much and I personally think her life had a good amount of impact from Leila. The little adventure they went on to the shoplifting to borrowing the Mercedes. I was so entertained when I read that. But the arresting part was even better. I have never had too much encounters with being arrested in books other that dystopian characters get captured or being held hostage and I have to say it was an interesting part to read. leila and Bree seemed so calmed when getting arrested and prison time. Then we have Bree’s sister coming back. Now the history between Bree and her sister is pretty jacked up. I’m pretty sure everyone would be pissed if their sibling kissed their significant other. That was a pretty great ending for Bree’s time with Leila.

And last but not least, Hudson. Hudson’s impact with Leila’s arrival is pretty bitter sweet. He lost the school but got the girl. Now the beauty of this book is we don’t even know what happens to these characters after their time with Leila. So we don’t know if Hudson still will go to school after the epilogue or if we just stays with Leila and continues to fix cars all his life. Hudson’s story was the perfect story yo put first. It wasn’t the most interesting but it gave us a taste of Leila and something to base her off. We know a bit about her but we get to know more about her as we get more in the book. There is also just the question through the whole entire book. “What is going to happen to Hudson?” We know that Bree will live back with her sister, Elliot will maybe start dating Sarah, and Sonia will live happily with Jeremiah but Hudson’s future was just so foggy and his ending is kind of stated at the end of the book where he goes back for Leila. I guess it encourages you to finish it to find out Hudson’s ending with you knowing Hudson’s ending is going to just pop at you during the end. We start with Hudson (and Leila) and end with Hudson (and Leila).

Just a few thoughts about Leila. I love Leila so much. Her carefree character but damaged past is just mysterious. During the whole entire book I just wanted to learn more about Leila’s past and we get small bits of her past and who she is. We don’t get that until her section of the book and her past is pretty interesting. Leila coming home was just so great to read and she finally got to see the Northern Lights. One thing that was interesting is that she told different stories on why she wanted to see the Northern Lights.

Hope you enjoyed this book as much as I did!

black5

tealdivider kaitlin

Follow on Bloglovin

Leave a comment