Let’s Talk!: Rebel by: Amy Tintera

Rebel (Reboot #2)

(Reboot synopsis…because spoilers)

Five years ago, Wren Connolly was shot three times in the chest. After 178 minutes she came back as a Reboot: stronger, faster, able to heal, and less emotional. The longer Reboots are dead, the less human they are when they return. Wren 178 is the deadliest Reboot in the Republic of Texas. Now seventeen years old, she serves as a soldier for HARC (Human Advancement and Repopulation Corporation).

Wren’s favorite part of the job is training new Reboots, but her latest newbie is the worst she’s ever seen. As a 22, Callum Reyes is practically human. His reflexes are too slow, he’s always asking questions, and his ever-present smile is freaking her out. Yet there’s something about him she can’t ignore. When Callum refuses to follow an order, Wren is given one last chance to get him in line—or she’ll have to eliminate him. Wren has never disobeyed before and knows if she does, she’ll be eliminated, too. But she has also never felt as alive as she does around Callum.

The perfect soldier is done taking orders.

Rebel

add to goodreads

Reboot

add to goodreads

Read my Let’s Talk! on Reboot.

tealdivider

picadillyblue non spoiler

I really enjoyed this book! It was a great way to end a great duology. I wouldn’t mind another book or novella but I feel like this was able satisfy my book needs. I loved the characters in this book and their diversity. The new characters were so interesting to read about in this book and I think  they were a great addition to the book. This book starts right after Reboot so I was kind of glad there was nothing new I had to read about. We learned more about certain things which I am very happy about. If you enjoyed Reboot then you should definitely read Rebel. If you enjoy dystopian with romance, read Reboot!

spoilers

The ending for this book was so happy! I loved it. Finally a happy ending that doesn’t require too much pain. Yeah Riley’s death was pretty sad but we didn’t even know him for the longest time, now if Addie or Callum were to die…cue the tears please! The characters in this book were great. I loved how we still got Wren, Callum, Addie, Desmond, Tony, and some people from Reboot back into Rebel, but these new characters! Micah; oh this man is an asshole but I loved his character. He was so manipulating in a nice way and that scares me in a non-scary way? Then we have Micah’s little minions. Julia and this Kyle person, right? They were pretty cool evil characters.

Now the plot for this book was pretty good. Fight against people who want to eliminate the human population? This is going to be interesting. Honestly I do agree with Wren when she thought the plan was a really sick (as in a bad) idea. It was just horrible of the thought of wiping out the entire human population and turning them all into Reboots. I honestly think the world would be such a horrible place if it were just Reboots roaming around everywhere. I don’t know..just my opinion.

The chemistry in this book was even better thet the first book. They actually legit did it this book! They got into an argument and did more of the cute Callren stuff! Ohh I like the idea of them having Reboot kids and having a family and ooohhhh its so cute! There was that part when Wren was having dinner with Callum’s family…now that got me. They were doing somewhat couple-ly stuff  and that was just a great part to read about. They’re so cute its cute to think about. 😀 I know…i’m a bit thirsty for more Callren.

Now the ending of this book was so fast but it was so great! I probably went through about 4 different emotions when reading the ending battle. Sad because Riley had died, happy because Officer Mayer had been killed, worried because Callum got a chapter of pure nothing, and relieved because Micah got his head chopped off. Reading Micah’s read get chopped off was a kind of thing where you thought,” Okay…moving on,” because it was so straight up and detailed. I mean his head got chopped off and rolled off to the side. No biggie right? So now HARC is gone, Callren is happy, Addie maybe in a relationship, and both Officer Mayer and Micah are dead. So this book ended on a satisfying note. Which I appreciate…a lot.

black4

tealdivider

Thanks for reading! Hope you enjoyed!

kaitlin

Follow on Bloglovin

Leave a comment