Interview with Beth Revis!

interview

Welcome to an interview with Beth Revis author of the Across the Universe trilogy, The Body Electric and more! Hope you enjoy!

tealdivider

1. What is one memory you would want to come up if you were in a reverie?

I think perhaps…just after my wedding. The whole ceremony went off without a hitch, all the worry and hassle was done, and I was finally properly married to the man I loved and starting on a whole new life with him. That was an awesome moment–it was calm, but also full of upcoming adventure.

2. How did you come up with the nano-bots and the science of a reverie?

Reveries came first–I wanted the dream-like state, and the idea of going back into your memories. Nanobots became my answer to make them work–and a way for me to combine the questions of humanity that I wanted to raise in this story.

3. What is something different when you wrote The Body Electric compared to Across the Universe?

A big difference was setting the world on Earth. I set out to make this book show what was happening on Earth while Amy and Elder were in space, so I had to use real settings, with real places, and invent a history that could reasonably exist in this world. It was also a different style, told only from one point of view instead of two.

4. How did you come up with the title for The Body Electric?

It came from Walt Whitman’s poem, “I Sing the Body Electric.”

5. How do you celebrate a publication of one of your new books?

By doing anything to distract myself from refreshing the pages to see what people think of the book!

tealdivider

about the author

Beth Revis

031610_revis_008_2_2-300x300

Beth Revis is the NY Times bestselling author of the Across the Universe series. The complete trilogy is now available in more than 20 languages. A native of North Carolina, Beth is currently working on a new science fiction novel for teens, The Body Electric, which releases October 6, 2014.

| Website | Twitter | Blog |

Thanks for reading, I hope you enjoyed, and let me know if you have read any books by Beth yet!

kaitlin

Leave a Reply

