Let’s Talk!: The Winner’s Curse by: Marie Rutcoski

 The Winner’s Curse

The Winner's Curse (The Winner's Trilogy, #1)

Author: Marie Rutkoski

Pages: 355

Published by: Farrar Straus Giroux

Published on: March 4th 2014

Winning what you want may cost you everything you love

As a general’s daughter in a vast empire that revels in war and enslaves those it conquers, seventeen-year-old Kestrel has two choices: she can join the military or get married. But Kestrel has other intentions.

One day, she is startled to find a kindred spirit in a young slave up for auction. Arin’s eyes seem to defy everything and everyone. Following her instinct, Kestrel buys him—with unexpected consequences. It’s not long before she has to hide her growing love for Arin.

But he, too, has a secret, and Kestrel quickly learns that the price she paid for a fellow human is much higher than she ever could have imagined.

Set in a richly imagined new world, The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski is a story of deadly games where everything is at stake, and the gamble is whether you will keep your head or lose your heart.

add to goodreads

tealdivider

picadillyblue non spoiler

I’ve heard about this book around the blogging world and BookTubers and I’m pretty happy I picked this book up. The plot of this book was so interesting and I really liked how this book was written. The characters in this book were just great and the world development was very well developed. I am really excited for the next book and if you have read this book and enjoyed it, you would too. 🙂

spoilers

I finally read this book! I haven’t had this book on my shelf for awhile but that’s okay because it’s been on my TBR Shelf for awhile. The cover is beautiful, the synopsis sounded great, and the book was pretty good. I don’t have much of an intro so let’s get into the review!

ARIN. The guy that caused this whole book and series of events. Throughout the book I liked him then hated him, then liked him, then hated him, hated him, and somewhat liked him, then just hated him so much. After awhile I got to like him but it’s funny, hahaha I still hate him so much.

angry animated GIF

Then there was Cheat. This guy was not someone I wanted to be kept alive for the whole book. He was a straight up ass. I did not like him at all and his actions just made me roll my eyes. He was a very violent leader who just went fr bloodshed at any moment in time. Something that I also really dislike about Cheat was how he sold Arin. I mean I guess they were lucky that Kestrel walked into the auction house. Also, what if someone has beat Kestrel’s bid then Boom, their plan would probably be gone like that.

Ronan and Kestrel would have been so cute if it weren’t for Arin. I ship them so bad to the point where I wish it happened. I wish it happened so bad. It”s just that ship the no one ever ships because they’re too busy with the other guy. I REALLY WANT RONAN AND KESTREL. Some people might argue that they aren’t good together because he doesn’t love her and they’re just good friends but if you were still single by like 70 there was no one left you could marry, wouldn’t you want to marry you’re best friend?! Yeah that’s all I gotta say. Then there was Jess and Kestrel. I just love these two. It kind of reminds of you and your best friend huh? I mean I could just imagine these two going (book) shopping together when they were younger and discussing boys. You know what I mean? It’s also funny as well because Kestrel is kind of the one who drags Jess into dangerous things while Jess is the one who pushes Kestrel to go to fancy parties and where nice dresses. I JUST LOVE THEM TOGETHER AS BEST FRIENDS.

We can’t forget about the couple themselves…Arin and Kestrel. I don’t know what is so good about these two but honestly, I don’t ship them as much as I expected to. I mean yeah they would be pretty okay together but this is one of the couples where I think….I don’t get it. Why do everyone like this ship so much? There are probably better people out there in their world that are better for both Arin and Kestrel than each other.

Just some bullet point things I wanted to mention:

  • The night of the invasion was probably the best thing ever. IT WAS EPIC AND HAD SO MUCH ACTION.
  • The day after the invasion was probably the saddest thing ever. How could Arin just betray her like that?
  • The ending was probably the saddest but coolest thing ever because Kestrel has to marry the prince and we now know a little for the next book.
  • The world this story takes place in is so cool!

black4

kaitlin

Leave a Reply

