Blog Tour: Tear You Apart by: Sarah Cross (Guest Post and Giveaway!)

Welcome to my tour stop for the Tear you Apart blog tour! I hope you enjoy the post.

tealdivider

Tear You Apart

Author: Sarah Cross

Pages: 384

Publisher: Egmont

Publishing on: January 27th 2015

An edgy fairy tale retelling of “Snow White” set in the world of Kill Me Softly for fans of Once Upon a Time and Grimm.

If you want to live happily ever after, first you have to stay alive.

Viv knows there’s no escaping her fairy-tale curse. One day her beautiful stepmother will feed her a poison apple or convince her on-again-off-again boyfriend, Henley, to hunt her down and cut out her heart before she breaks his. In the city of Beau Rivage, some princesses are destined to be prey.

But then Viv receives an invitation to the exclusive club where the Twelve Dancing Princesses twirl away their nights. There she meets Jasper, an underworld prince who seems to have everything—but what he really wants is her. He vows to save her from her dark fate if she’ll join him and be his queen.

All Viv has to do is tear herself away from the huntsman boy who still holds her heart. Then she might live to see if happily ever after is a promise the prince can keep. But is life as an underworld queen worth sacrificing the true love that might kill her?

Faced with a possible loophole to her “Snow White” curse, Viv goes underground, literally, to find the prince who’s fated to rescue her. But is life safe in the Underworld worth the price of sacrficing the love that might kill her?

POP CULTURE CAN’T GET ENOUGH OF TWISTING FAIRY TALES: ABC’s Once Upon a Time and NBC’s Grimm continue to pull in high ratings. And with the anticipated Angelina Jolie Maleficent (2014), the film adaptation of Stephen Sondheim’s Into the Woods (2014), and Kenneth Branagh’s Cinderella (2015), Hollywood is infected with fairy tale fever.

CAMEOS FROM FAVORITE CHARACTERS: Viv, who first appeared in Kill Me Softly trailed by her brooding boy-toy Henley, takes center stage in this new Beau Rivage tale. Other familiar characters including Blue and Jewel are back to help her defy her destiny.

TEENS LOVE THIS FAIRY TALE WORLD: Kill Me Soflty was a 2013 YALSA Teens’ Top 10. Readers have been clamoring for a sequel.

A FRESH TAKE ON THE FAMILIAR: Drawing on “Snow White,” “The Twelve Dancing Princesses,” and “Rumpelstiltskin,” Tear You Apart is very conscious of the way these stories have pervaded pop culture, twisting known tropes into an exciting new story that can stand on its own.

add to goodreads

| Amazon | iTunes | Barnes and Noble | Book Depository | Kobo |

tealdivider

Beau Rivage

                                         Kill Me Softly (Beau Rivage, #1)  Twin Roses  Tear You Apart

tealdivider

interview

What motivates me to write?

by Sarah Cross

Two things, really: 1) I want to share my stories with other people and in order to share them, I have to write them, and 2) I am not immortal.

I don’t know how many stories I’ll be able to tell. Even if I live to be ninety, and am able to write up until the end, it’s unlikely I’ll be able to finish all the books I want to write.

My fear of not being able to tell ALL THE STORIES is stronger than my fear of the blank page.

Which isn’t to say the blank page isn’t scary―because it is. But if that fear is holding you back―because you’re afraid you won’t do your story justice, or everything you write will be garbage―be more afraid that that page will stay blank forever. Don’t do that to yourself. Once you have something written down, you can make it better, layer by layer.

I actually like drafting―writing garbage (and sometimes actual good stuff!) and imagining it’s gold. (Or that it will be gold when I figure out how to fix it.)

The scariest part for me isn’t the blank page, but the page I’ve already written. Every time I have to reread my work, whether I’m revising it for the first time or just checking for typos before it goes to print, I approach it with terror.

What if the stuff I felt so good about while I was drafting is horrible?

What if all the things I loved on the last readthrough seem awful this time around? What if I couldn’t see the flaws the last hundred times I read this but now I’ve evolved and they’re everywhere and it’s too late to do anything about it???

I don’t know if those fears will ever go away. All I can do is make the book as good as I can make it right then, accept that it’s not going to be perfect, and tell myself that the next book will be better.

The next book, the unwritten book, will always be better―that’s the best motivation. Keep chasing that next, perfect, imaginary book, one line at a time, and you might end up writing something someone really loves, even if on your next readthrough you cringe and think, “Agh, that simile!”

It’s okay. Really. Your next book will be perfect.

tealdivider

about the author

Sarah Cross

Sarah Cross is the author of the fairy tale novels Kill Me Softly and Tear You Apart (coming January 2015), the superhero novel Dull Boy, and the Wolverine comic “The Adamantium Diaries.” She loves fairy tales, lowbrow art, secret identities and silence.

| Website | Goodreads | Twitter | Facebook | Tumblr | Personal Tumblr | Pinterest |

giveaway

^ Click above for giveaway^

 tealdivider

kaitlin

3 thoughts on “Blog Tour: Tear You Apart by: Sarah Cross (Guest Post and Giveaway!)

  1. Pingback: FFBC Blog Tour: Tear You Apart (Beau Rivage) by Sarah Cross – What Makes Patri

Leave a Reply

