Let’s Talk!: Don’t Even Think About It by: Sarah Mlynowski

Don’t Even Think About It

Don't Even Think About It

Author: Sarah Mlynowski

Pages: 336

Publisher: Delacorte Press

Publishing on: March 11th 2014

Contemporary teen fiction with romance, secrets, scandals, and ESP from the author of Ten Things We Did (And Probably Shouldn’t Have).

We weren’t always like this. We used to be average New York City high school sophomores. Until our homeroom went for flu shots. We were prepared for some side effects. Maybe a headache. Maybe a sore arm. We definitely didn’t expect to get telepathic powers. But suddenly we could hear what everyone was thinking. Our friends. Our parents. Our crushes. Now we all know that Tess is in love with her best friend, Teddy. That Mackenzie cheated on Cooper. That, um, Nurse Carmichael used to be a stripper.

Since we’ve kept our freakish skill a secret, we can sit next to the class brainiac and ace our tests. We can dump our boyfriends right before they dump us. We know what our friends really think of our jeans, our breath, our new bangs. We always know what’s coming. Some of us will thrive. Some of us will crack. None of us will ever be the same.

So stop obsessing about your ex. We’re always listening.

add to goodreads

tealdivider

picadillyblue

non spoiler

This book was good. It was really good. I really liked the plot of this story and the different characters within this book. The main aspect of this book was a very nice addition to the story. One of the other things I also strongly liked about this book was how it kept you on your feet throughout the whole book. I felt attached to the characters and it was really cool to read about the characters reading other people’s mind and stuff. If you like the mind-reading hilarious stuff in a book this is for you!

spoilers

I’ve had this book on my bookshelf for a long time (almost a year) without reading it. One thing that really motivated me for buying this was the fact that it was signed, it got good ratings on Goodreads, and the plot seemed very interesting. This is one of the books that make me so proud of how well my book buying skills are. Oh did I mentioned this book was signed? Yeah, I couldn’t get over the fact it was signed. So now that i’m done gushing about the fact that this book signed..off to the review!

The plot in this book is very interesting and I really enjoyed it. I thought it was really interesting how this book went down and I think it was very cleverly planned. Everything just flowed nicely into the climax of the story and nicely calmed down to end off the story. It didn’t feel rushed and it didn’t feel like anything was forced. I also really liked the characters in this book. They didn’t seem too quirky and unrealistic. I mean some people (Olivia) had disorders and Mackenzie was born a preemie. The characters together all just made the story really nice and unique.

One of the other things I loved in this book was the writing style. There was no big title that exactly told me who’s perspective the chapter was in but when you kept reading on it just came to you on who the chapter focused on. I also really liked how even though the perspectives changed the writing was just great. I enjoyed the selection of characters in this book but I kind of wanted a chapter of a perspective of someone who was in the presence of a Espies. If I were a non-Espie I would be pretty confused if no one was talking and just mind reading. I also want to mention that this book was pretty funny.

I think this book was very well tied up. It is a great platform for the next book and it didn’t leave anyone with a huge cliffhanger. I just wish we knew a little something about the second book. I’ve considered the fact that the Espies will fight crime and stuff and then I remember…THIS ISN’T AN ACTION NOVEL KAITLIN. I just really don’t know what the next book will be about and I really want to know.

Okay for the final paragraph of this review..let’s talk the couples in this book. Teddy and Tess were just a cute but a sad couple. I mean Tess loves Teddy but he is just so attached to Saddie. Ugh love triangles. It’s just so sad how Teddy is just so ignorant to the fact that Tess loves him. I can’t- he is just so stupid. Cooper and Mackenzie are so cute but they are so sad. WHY ARE THE COUPLES IN THIS BOOK SO CUTE BUT SAD? They would have been so great together if it weren’t for stupid Bennett, that anayhole. Thinks he can walk into the room and act like he didn’t ruin a whole relationship. I just wish Mackenzie would just not have talked to him and stayed committed. Yeah that’s it. Now i’m all sad from the failed relationships from this book. Okay, i’m going to go sulk…goodbye.

black5

kaitlin

2 thoughts on “Let’s Talk!: Don’t Even Think About It by: Sarah Mlynowski

  1. I loved this book too. I am waiting on tenterhooks fo the next one in the series. I agree that it’s an amazing book. It took me a little while to get used to the writing style and the different perspectives but once I did, it made perfect sense and I fell in love. 🙂

    Good review. 🙂

Leave a Reply

