Let’s Talk!: Can’t Look Away by: Donna Cooner

Can’t Look Away

Donna Cooner establishes herself as our own Jodi Picoult in this timely tale of sisters, loss, and redemption.

Torrey Grey is famous. At least, on the internet. Thousands of people watch her popular videos on fashion and beauty. But when Torrey’s sister is killed in an accident — maybe because of Torrey and her videos — Torrey’s perfect world implodes.

Now, strangers online are bashing Torrey. And at her new school, she doesn’t know who to trust. Is queen bee Blair only being sweet because of Torrey’s internet infamy? What about Raylene, who is decidedly unpopular, but seems accepts Torrey for who she is? And then there’s Luis, with his brooding dark eyes, whose family runs the local funeral home. Torrey finds herself drawn to Luis, and his fascinating stories about El dio de los Muertos, the Day of the Dead.

As the Day of the Dead draws near, Torrey will have to really look at her own feelings about death, and life, and everything in between. Can she learn to mourn her sister out of the public eye?

add to goodreads

tealdivider

non spoiler

I got this book of NetGalley for review and it took me so long to complete. I thought it was a bit boring for my taste. The character development was okay..it wasn’t the best but it wasn’t horrible. The way the author did flashbacks and the way she told us about Torrey’s past was something I liked. The YouTube aspect in this book played a somewhat major part in this book so if you don’t mind YouTube being in this book, then go for this book! If you feel interested in this book, go for it! Also, if you like YouTube and social media this book may be for you!

spoilers

You want to know why I chose this book of NetGalley and requested it? The main character was/is a YouTuber. I love YouTubers and YouTube so much. I wasn’t expecting the main character to stop YouTube for a while but I guess I was okay with that because I still had her YouTubing stories. I thought the book was a little boring and there weren’t enough exciting events. The events were boring and when it got to the climax of the book it felt like the beginning of the book when the events in the books were just getting started.

This next paragraph is going to be me just discussing some things in the book and there isn’t much because this book was a little boring. So the people that Torrey met when she moved to Texas we’re probably the kind of most cliche people. You have the popular girl that tries to befriend the new girl. Then we have her crew and there is always one girl that doesn’t like the new girl. And then there is always a boy. Whether he is popular or not depends on the author. Luis and Torrey are kind of cute. At first I was thinking “What’s wrong with Luis?” when ever Blair would make faces toward him. Now I think they are pretty cute together. I liked how Torrey did the “Screw it” thing and just went ahead and dated Luis because It was about time. Blair and her friends were pretty annoying. In most books when the main character encounters fake friends I get really annoyed when they don’t know how to stop talking to them. It’s like a football fan watching football and they are yelling at the TV. Like please, take care of yourself and disconnect from these people!

I also like the Day of the Dead aspect of the book. I wish it was enhanced more and I felt like it was just brushed aside like “Oh, Torrey is going to do something about Day of the Dead,” like they mentioned it in the synopsis! It should have a bigger part in this book! Let me know how you felt about this book!

(2 1/2 stars)

black3

tealdivider

Thanks for reading! Hope you enjoyed!

kaitlin

Leave a Reply

