Let’s Talk!: The Blood of Olympus by: Rick Riordan

The Blood of Olympus

Though the Greek and Roman crewmembers of the Argo II have made progress in their many quests, they still seem no closer to defeating the earth mother, Gaea. Her giants have risen—all of them—and they’re stronger than ever. They must be stopped before the Feast of Spes, when Gaea plans to have two demigods sacrificed in Athens. She needs their blood—the blood of Olympus—in order to wake.

The demigods are having more frequent visions of a terrible battle at Camp Half-Blood. The Roman legion from Camp Jupiter, led by Octavian, is almost within striking distance. Though it is tempting to take the Athena Parthenos to Athens to use as a secret weapon, the friends know that the huge statue belongs back on Long Island, where it “might” be able to stop a war between the two camps.

The Athena Parthenos will go west; the Argo II will go east. The gods, still suffering from multiple personality disorder, are useless. How can a handful of young demigods hope to persevere against Gaea’s army of powerful giants? As dangerous as it is to head to Athens, they have no other option. They have sacrificed too much already. And if Gaea wakes, it is game over.

add to goodreads

tealdivider

picadillyblue non spoiler

For the last book if a series and Rick Riordan’s writing I was pretty disappointed. I think this is my second to last book out of all the books in this series. It just wasn’t as good as Mark of Athena or House of Hades. I really don’t want to say so much about this book because any little piece of information might give away some of the book. So if you haven’t read Blood of Olympus have fun with it! If you haven’t read any Rick Riordan book, GET TO IT. 😉

spoilers

Disappointment and more. That’s how I feel about this book. I was honestly expecting a big KA BOOM ending but it was just a “boom…?” ending. If that made sense. So I have so much to talk about in this post and so much to discuss so let’s get to it!

First things first…the ending. I’m kinda disappointed with the ending. I was expecting a big ending that would leave me okay with the fact that this series is now over. We don’t even know if Percy and Co. know that Leo is alive. I love Leo and it hurt me so much that they thought that Leo was dead and they would have to go through the huge moment when they find out that Leo us alive. I just don’t like the fact that everyone thinks that Leo is dead. Then there is also the endings for the couples. How Percabeth will spend their university years together THEN LIVE TOGETHER. LIKE YES! How Piper and Jason say their I Love You’s. D’aw its all so cute. (Ending battle later in the post)

One thing that is important in a book is the perspective the book is written in. Now inThe Heroes of Olympus there us always more than 1 perspective. I usually don’t have a lot of problems with the perspective and when it does tick me off I try to find a unbiased reason to dislike it. This book was meh with the perspective choice. I was really wishing that Frank, Percy, Annabeth, or Hazel had a perspective in this book. I think I would have a better time reading this book if one of those 4 people had a perceptive in the last book. At first I got so bored of Nico and Reyna’s perspectives but as I got more into the book Nico’s and Reyna’s perspectives got better and better and their perspectives were a pretty good addition to the book.

The two ending battles were okay as in how big they were. I expected a more action-y ending battle because Rick’s battles in his previous books were always so epic and fun to read. Even though there were two battle I was expecting more to happen in the battle with the giants. I think that there should have been more things happening at that point. It was just them fighting off the giants and they were obviously going to win with the god’s help. Now the battle at Camp Half-Blood that one could have been so good but I feel like we didn’t get to know that much of what happened. All we know is that some people died, some got hurt, it was a battle between both camps then they became one and went against Gaea. Octavian was a huge jerk, Leo does some stuff, and Ka Boom Gaea is gone and so is Leo. Completely not satisfied.

~This paragraph is very random..beware~

This book in general supposed to be the biggest book out of the whole entire series. The events were meh, very weak, small and not as action-y as previous books. I have so many unanswered questions that I though that would be answered in this book but that didn’t happen. There was one part where Percabeth was saying their I Love You’s in the giant place and that part was so cute! We’ve known them since age 12 and its so cute to see them say I Love You and how they want to end the Athena and Poseidon rivalry. Also no one really died in this book. Leo didn’t die, Reyna didn’t die. Weren’t 2 demigods supposed to die? What is this?

~End of random paragraph~

Topic of this paragraph? Whether I should write/read fan fiction for this book. I really wished there was an epilogue with more in depth information on what happens to everyone after this book. I think leaving readers with unanswered questions from the last book is a pretty horrible idea because it does drive me crazy and I know there are other people out there who feel my pain. It just doesn’t get a better rating if you leave a reader with unanswered questions.

black3

tealdivider

Thanks for reading! Hope you enjoyed!

kaitlin

Leave a Reply

