Judging Books By Their Covers and Cover Changes

So you how people say “Never judge a book by it’s cover?” Raise your hand if you ever walk through a bookstore and browse books based on their covers?

Now I believe judging books by their cover isn’t a bad thing. I’m not going to sit at a bookstore reading the synopsis of every book because that will take ages. Instead I walk around the store and look at the covers and which ever ones will catch my eye are the ones that are most likely to be picked to be synopsis-read. Sometimes when the books are all together and the spines are showing I will read the titles then judge the cover. I believe that it is on the cover designer and the publisher to create an eye catching cover. That’s when you know your cover artist is good.

Now I know some books get their covers changed and i’m not actually sure why books get cover changes. I know some get changes just to refresh/renew the book or the book is a little older and it may be an university cover. Eleanor and Park had a minor cover change because it was a collector’s edition.

What usually saddens me is when a cover is changed but the original cover looked better. Honestly my opinion on cover changes is…if it’s not necessary…then it wasn’t necessary. That’s it.

Let me know how you feel about not judging books by their covers and cover changes.

tealdivider

Thanks for reading! Hope you enjoyed!

kaitlin

Leave a Reply

