Let’s Talk!: If I Stay -and- Where She Went by: Gayle Forman

If I Stay

Just listen, Adam says with a voice that sounds like shrapnel.

I open my eyes wide now.
I sit up as much as I can.
And I listen.

Stay, he says.

Choices. Seventeen-year-old Mia is faced with some tough ones: Stay true to her first love—music—even if it means losing her boyfriend and leaving her family and friends behind?

Then one February morning Mia goes for a drive with her family, and in an instant, everything changes. Suddenly, all the choices are gone, except one. And it’s the only one that matters.

If I Stay is a heartachingly beautiful book about the power of love, the true meaning of family, and the choices we all make.

add to goodreads

tealdivider

picadillyblue

non spoiler

This was a really good book. I loved it. I liked how it was delivered. Honestly there were so many good things about this book there is nothing I really disliked about this. The characters was so realistic. It was basically like you were meeting these characters for the first time and this seemed so realistic. If you are someone looking for a book to read after you finished the best trilogy/series ever and need a quick break from all the suspenseful and heartbreaking books this one is for you!

black5

Where She Went

It’s been three years since Mia walked out of Adam’s life.

And three years he’s spent wondering why.

When their paths cross again in New York City, Adam and Mia are brought back together for one life-changing night.

Adam finally has the opportunity to ask Mia the questions that have been haunting him. But will a few hours in this magical city be enough to lay their past to rest, for good – or can you really have a second chance at first love?

add to goodreads

tealdivider

picadillyblue

non spoiler

So this was basically a book where we find Mia again. Honestly I didn’t enjoy the book as much as I expected. It was a little boring but it wasn’t that bad. I liked the plot, it was something you definitely would continue on reading after if i stay. Event wise this one was my least favorite. If I Stay will probably be my favorite book out of this duology.

spoilers

So after I finished if i stay I read the synopsis for Where She Went. I was just so shocking and thinking “This isn’t happening, this isn’t happening” Mia and Adam broke up…[that was sorta sad for me] So this book takes place 3 years after Mia wakes up and is written in Adam POV. Honestly I would have liked it if it was in Mia’s POV then we could see how she felt during their little outing together. So we immediately start off with Adam’s new life. He has a girlfriend, a tour starting soo, and w get to see him in this interview. So i’m reading this interview and I see this Vanessa girl. My friend who had read this book told me that there was a small love triangle. I was freaking out hoping that Vanessa was not a love interest. I hated Vanessa. She was so rude and into Adam’s business. The fact that she looked through Adam’s yearbook was so ridiculous. So now we have this Bryn girl. Honestly I still don’t get why they were dating. From the book it sounded like Adam wasn’t as interested in Bryn then he used to be with Mia.

When Adam walked up to Carnegie Hall and bought tickets I was just anticipating Mia and Adam’s reunion. It was just so nerve-racking for me because I didn’t know if Adam was going to be mad at Mia or if something good would happen. Then Adam leaves and Mia finds him again. [Yay!!] So this night that they spend together. I was expecting something to happen and they would be together again but I knew that wouldn’t happen because Adams got a girlfriend

Was anyone freaking out later in the book when Mia and Adam finally kissed and made plans to accompany each other to places…ahhh finally. Then the phone call from Adam to Bryn was brilliant. THEY FINALLY BROKE UPPPPP!!!!! YES! The ending was perfect and I loved it. They are back together, accompanying each other during events now, and Adam quit the band [finally]…ugh…such a beautiful ending.

One more thing. When I was reading about Adam sleeping with other girls after concerts I was texting my friend with this face while reading: :0 and :/. Like seriously Adam. You seriously sleep with fans you barely even know when you know you still love Mia. WHY?!

So that was the Where She Went Let’s Talk! I hope you enjoyed the book more/as much as I did. Thanks for reading! Enjoy. 🙂

black4

kaitlin

Leave a Reply

